My 2022 Wordless Diary

Those of you who read this blog or follow me on social media will know I’ve been creating “Wordless Diary” entries since late 2018. However my practice was sporadic, even rare at times.

This year I decided to change that and create a habit of doing one wordless entry a day, in the same book. The idea was to work on forming this habit in January and then start the daily practice on my birthday, January 30th.

The sketchbook I chose was a little book of Lokta paper that I found on Amazon. Because of the delicate nature of this paper–and how faint pencil shows on its surface–the only medium I can really use on it is ink. And not dip pen ink either. Just good ol’ fashioned brush pens and Microns.

This may sound limiting, but for someone like me with a lot of clutter in the brain, limits can be relaxing. They also allow for new ideas to come to light, things I may not have thought of otherwise if I’d had access to all of my supplies at once.

Forming the habit was a bit spotty at first, but once I’d decided on the Lokta journal, it became easier for me to make it a daily thing, and adding it to my daily checklist helped hold me to the promise I’d made myself. Now that the habit has formed, I haven’t allowed myself to forget. Not even at 9pm when the kid has been put to bed and it’s time for momma to relax. My brain will be like “uh….didn’t you forget something?”

So, needless to say, I’ve successfully kept the promise to myself and have created a wordless entry in my diary every day since January 30th (before, if we really want to count those habit-forming days too).

Is this a Project 365? My answer to this question would be no. Calling it a Project 365 always seems to be the nail in the coffin for me. No, this was more about forming a habit and doing something that will help me attain mindfulness each and every day. Same as a daily meditation habit, or the habit to drink water each hour. It’s a wellness thing. So I hope to keep doing this daily shindig indefinitely. But for now, I’m not going to hold myself to anything but today’s entry.

Interested in starting your own Wordless Diary? I have written a few blog articles that can help you get started:

Plus, I’m having a giveaway on my Patreon! Anyone who joins by March 1st will have the opportunity to win one of my little handbound Khadi journals. They make great, pocket-friendly wordless diaries, and the paper is strong enough for almost any medium.

Still have questions? Feel free to comment below, or send me an email: lina@linaforrester.com

Until next time, may your feelings be visual and your heart be honest.

One thought on “My 2022 Wordless Diary

Add to the convo